Qualcomm, the company who makes the Snapdragon processor seen in many Android devices, has overhauled their naming scheme. Qualcomm’s naming scheme used to be MSM8260, MSM855T, MSM8930, and so on. Today, Qualcomm is moving their naming scheme into a four tier system: S1, S2, S3, S4.

S1 processors will be 1GHz and below and will be for mass market. S2 is for high performance devices, like the Droid Incredible,  with speeds up to 1.4 GHz. Devices like the EVO 3 will fall under S3, with up to 1.5 GHz. And finally, S4 will be for everything between 1.6 GHz and 2.5 GHz — which doesn’t actually include anything, yet.

When better processors come around S1 won’t become S2, rather, a S5 tier will be created. Check out the S3 below: (via TechCrunch)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s