Google announced today that it is rolling out some big enhancements for Google+ notifications on the web and mobile devices. The biggest of which is notification sync, meaning when you clear a Google+ notification on one device it will automatically be marked as read on all your other devices:

– When you read a notification on one device, we’ll mark it as read on your other devices – Likewise: dismissing a notification (with a swipe or a click) does so everywhere, so you can say goodbye to annoying repeats

Other enhancements to notifications on both desktop and mobile include a new bell icon to see unread notifications and “An updated notifications tray that separates unread from previously-read items.”

Google is also updating its Google+ Android app today with the above improvements to notifications and a few other new features:

– You can now delete your photos from the Photos view – Tapping into a post shows the number of +1’s, comments and reshares – The left-hand menu design is now more consistent with other Google apps

The new notifications will be available on Android starting today and roll out to web and iOS devices soon.

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.


Check out 9to5Google on YouTube for more news:

You’re reading 9to5Google — experts who break news about Google and its surrounding ecosystem, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow 9to5Google on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our exclusive stories, reviews, how-tos, and subscribe to our YouTube channel

About the Author