If you decide to privately browse the web for one reason or another, you might notice something a little different when you go into Incognito mode. Back in April, Google revealed that it was working on giving Chrome’s privacy tab a bit of a makeover and while its functionality pretty much remains unchanged, its landing page’s mascot no longer looks like the neighborhood watch guy.

If you’re unfamiliar with what Incognito mode is, it’s one of Chrome’s privacy options that lets you browse the web without leaving as many tracks as you normally would. Pages viewed in Incognito tabs aren’t saved in your browsing history, cookie store or search history, but any bookmarks you create or files you download will still be saved. While it’s not like you have something to hide, Google explicitly warns that going Incognito “doesn’t hide your browsing from your employer, your internet service provider, or the websites you visit.” So think before you browse.

About the Author