Drive Shared People icon menu

Google Drive is a really easy way to allow colleagues, family or friends to share access to a set of files, but keeping track of who has what access – and changing permissions – can be a fiddly business. The company has announced in a blog post that it’ll be making life much easier in future.

In the coming weeks, we will be adding a new “people icon” to shared folders, which simplifies seeing who you’ve shared a folder with and whether they have View, Edit, or Comment permissions. With this change, we hope to reduce the amount of clutter for users and make sharing more transparent for folder owners.

Google says the rollout will begin in a fortnight’s time, but will take a few days to roll out to everyone. The company also recently added the ability to control sharing notifications on mobile devices.

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.


Check out 9to5Google on YouTube for more news:

You’re reading 9to5Google — experts who break news about Google and its surrounding ecosystem, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow 9to5Google on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our exclusive stories, reviews, how-tos, and subscribe to our YouTube channel

About the Author

Ben Lovejoy's favorite gear