Having a camera built into the devices we carry makes it possible to take dozens of photos every day. While these can be selfies, pictures of your latte, or pictures of your loved ones, it’s always good to know that you have your photo memories saved.

With Google Photos, you can automatically back up all the pictures you take to the cloud — but it’s also important to have all of the folders with your pictures in them turned on so that they’re protected if you ever lose your phone…

Amazon Kindle Paperwhite

There could be dozens of different folders on your phone that store photos, and you may or may not want Google Photos to backup all of them. Thankfully, you can enable and disable the syncing of the different folders right from the application on your phone.

The following will walk you through how to enable or disable backing up specific folders in Google Photos:

  1. Open the Google Photos application
  2. Either tap on the menu button in the upper left-hand side corner or swipe in from the left-side of the screen
  3. Click on Device folder
  4. You will be shown different folders with a preview of the pictures in each. Select the cloud icon to toggle the folder backup on and off

About the Author