Google today rolled out a new opt-in setting on Google+ allowing you to give the company’s facial recognition software residing in the cloud an explicit permission to match your photos against the images other people upload to their profile. If it detects a match, Google+ will automatically put your name tag next to your face on their photo. All they have to do is accept or reject a face tag.

They call it Find My Face, Google explains:

By turning on Find My Face, Google+ can prompt people you know to tag your face when it appears in photos. Of course, you have control over which tags you accept or reject, and you can turn this feature on or off in Google+ settings.

A similar feature exists on Facebook and Google+ has had facial recognition and tagging for photos from the onset. However, Facebook has no opt-in setting. Their feature is on auto-pilot (users do get to review their face tags on other folks’ photos) and on Google+ you could previously tag yourself in your own photos, but it wouldn’t put the name behind a familiar face.

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.


Check out 9to5Google on YouTube for more news:

You’re reading 9to5Google — experts who break news about Google and its surrounding ecosystem, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow 9to5Google on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our exclusive stories, reviews, how-tos, and subscribe to our YouTube channel

About the Author