With Google, products die just about as fast as they’re born. Spaces, which originally launched in May of 2016 — just before the kickoff of Google I/O 2016 — is being shuttered…
Spaces is closing its doors on April 17th, and the announcement comes by a Google Support document:
First, thank you to everyone who used Spaces. It was a tough decision, and it’s tough to say goodbye.
A few important details:
Spaces will be read-only on March 3rd: This means you can’t create new spaces, posts or comments. Also, new invitations can’t be sent, and new members can’t be added to spaces.
Between now and April 17th, you can:
- See, save, print, and delete your content.
- Delete any spaces you created, leave any spaces you joined, and remove people from your spaces.
- Report abuse in Spaces, and block other Spaces users.
After April 17th, 2017: Spaces and their content will be deleted.
Our goal with Spaces was to create a better small-group sharing experience, and we’ll use what we’ve learned to improve other Google products and services. Thanks again for your support.
The Spaces team
If you never used Spaces, it was a social network of sorts that hoped to bring easier sharing of text, photos, and links to small groups. As you may know, it didn’t exactly catch on.
If you’re a user of Spaces — shoot me an email if you actually used the service, I’d love to hear your story — you can keep using it as normal until March 3rd when Google will make it read-only. Most read functionality will remain until April 17th when Spaces dies the same death as the countless short-lived Google products that came before it.