Following suit with other carriers, Verizon Wireless announced this morning its plan to instate a $30 mobile device upgrade fee April 22. This means if you are an existing Verizon customer looking to purchase a new device on a two-year contract, you will have to pay $30. Thanks!

Verizon was the only carrier not to charge its customers an upgrade fee. AT&T and Sprint each charge their customers $36 to upgrade to a new device on contract, while T-Mobile charges customers $18 to upgrade. Verizon claims the reason is: “This fee will help us continue to provide customers with the level of service and support they have come to expect which includes Wireless Workshops, online educational tools, and consultations with experts who provide advice and guidance on devices that are more sophisticated than ever.”

Since the fee covers “all mobile devices,” 3G+4G enabled tablets would also appear to be also under this window. You can check out the full press release after the break.

On April 22, Verizon Wireless is implementing a $30 upgrade fee for existing customers purchasing new mobile equipment at a discounted price with a two-year contract. This fee will help us continue to provide customers with the level of service and support they have come to expect which includes Wireless Workshops, online educational tools, and consultations with experts who provide advice and guidance on devices that are more sophisticated than ever.

While the upgrade fee is not unique to Verizon Wireless, most devices can be traded in with our green friendly trade-in program at www.verizonwireless.com/tradein as a way to save money or potentially offset the fee completely.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s