Google Contacts will soon gain a fairly standard “Trash” feature, like Gmail, Photos, and even Android. Available on the web, it results in a two-step process for deleting contacts.
Trash makes it much easier for users to recover contacts they’ve accidentally deleted.
When you delete a contact, it will first go to Trash. Contacts will be permanently removed after 30 days, but users until then can view all details and “Recover.” There’s also the ability to “Delete forever” at any time.
The folder will appear underneath “Other contact” in the web sidebar. Google notes that “Trash will contain contacts deleted on any device — web, Android, iOS, and more — but you can only view and manage Trash on the web.”
It’s rolling out now to contacts.google.com and will be fully available for personal and G Suite accounts over the next two weeks.
- Admins: There is no admin control for this feature.
- End users: This feature will be ON by default. Find it in the left-hand menu when you go to Google Contacts on the web (contacts.google.com). The Trash view is not available yet in the Google Contacts apps for mobile devices. Visit the Help Center to learn more about using Google Contacts.
More about Google Contacts:
- Contacts can now backup local contacts, something it shockingly couldn’t before
- Google Contacts on the web regains ability to quickly ‘create multiple contacts’
- Contacts update finds people not saved to your account in search
FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.