For Google Workspace customers, Drive lets you set an expiration date when sharing files, and the capability is now picking up a pair of usability enhancements.

For starters, you can now add an expiration date to somebody’s access when sharing instead of only “after a person already has access to the file.” To do so, add somebody as you would normally and tap the roles dropdown. “Add expiration” appears at the bottom and you’ll get a date picker. 

Meanwhile, “you can now add expiring access for editors, as opposed to just for viewers and commenters.” This feature is aimed at “time-bound” collaborations so that “you don’t have to clean up a file’s access control list after collaboration has ended.”

Google Drive’s expanded file expirations are rolling out first on the web, and also coming to Android by the end of November. 

  • Available to Google Workspace Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Education Plus, Education Standard, and Nonprofits customers 
  • Not available to Google Workspace Essentials, Business Starter, Education Fundamentals, the Teaching and Learning Upgrade, Frontline, as well as legacy G Suite Basic and Business customers 
  • Not available to users with personal Google Accounts 

More on Google Drive:

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.


Check out 9to5Google on YouTube for more news:

You’re reading 9to5Google — experts who break news about Google and its surrounding ecosystem, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow 9to5Google on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our exclusive stories, reviews, how-tos, and subscribe to our YouTube channel

About the Author

Abner Li

Editor-in-chief. Interested in the minutiae of Google and Alphabet. Tips/talk: abner@9to5g.com