Flickr

After June 30th, Yahoo will completely remove Google and Facebook sign-in options from Flickr. As the company transitions towards its own login system, it’s sending out emails to users of its photo sharing service offering them a chance to make the switch before it closes these two doorways. This isn’t the first time we’ve seen a major company attempt to cut its ties with Google and it probably won’t be the last. A few weeks ago, Yahoo CEO, Marissa Mayer was reportedly trying to persuade Apple to drop Google search in favor of Yahoo’s engine for the company’s iOS platform. So Yahoo distancing its own products from Mountain View’s reach definitely to make sense.

If you’re currently using a Google or Facebook account to access Flickr, you’ve got a few weeks to make the change. However, you could just do it now, or procrastinate until a last minute reminder hits your inbox.

Here’s a look at the message from Yahoo:

Hi Flickr User, After June 30, Flickr will remove the option to sign in with a Facebook or Google account. Instead, you will be able to sign in using a Yahoo account. To create your Yahoo account click “Get Started” below.

We want to make this transition as easy as possible. If you have any questions, please check out our Help Articles or come see us in the Help Forum. We appreciate your understanding during this transition. Thank you for being a part of the Flickr community! – Flickr Team

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s